Readers on the Run 5K

This fun 5-kilometer combination footrace, poetry composition contest, and fundraiser for the John Trigg Ester Library is held every year during Alaska Book Week, on the first or second weekend of October. The race starts and ends at the Ida Lane Clausen Gazebo on Village Road, opposite the Ester Post Office, looping through west Ester and the Tailings, with stops at the gazebo for poetry composition.

vol. VII: Sunday, October 5, 2014

2014’s race was preceded by SNOW! Alas, this meant that the Manley School contingent could not make it, and the number of runners was down drastically from previous years. But those of you who did manage to get out to Ester to slog through the snow, you know what a warm welcome you were given, even if the pizza was late. We only had one zombie, but what a creature of the undead he was! AND we had a dragon to warm things up!

Zombie poster

Prizes are awarded for best times, best poems, best costumes, best (or most) bribes, most runner sponsors/highest amount of sponsorships earned, and most zombies evaded. (That last one is a new introduction, courtesy Edward Rouleau. Look out for that lurching action, folks.)

Registration form
Runner sponsorship form

We’ve only had a blizzard once…although we’ve had snow three times now, come to think of it…

2014 Volunteers

Brains: Nannette Rouleau
Costume Judge: Jasmine Stokes
Poetry Judge: Judy “Tinker”
Poster Design: Deirdre Helfferich, Ester Designworks
Ringmaster/Timekeeper: “Captain” Edward Rouleau
Zombie Lurch Mob: Oliver Rogers
Volunteers: David, Justin Greenhaw, Carla Helfferich, Deirdre Helfferich, Connie Huffman, Varpu Lotvonen, Hans Mölders, Molly Rettig, Trey Simmons, Judy Stauffer

special thanks to Hans Mölders, Edward Rouleau, and Judy Stauffer for donation of prizes; to the EVFD for sending out a couple of spotters; and to Connie Huffman for an emergency run for pizza

2014 Results

Most Creative Costume/Overall Best Costume: Dana Fjare and Dashiel Feierabend
Best Team Costume: Chris Campbell, Christie Shell, Soula & Django Gianakopoulos
Best/Only Zombie Costume: Oliver Rogers
Best Poem: Aidan Earnest
Best Poem, Second Place: Jeff Rogers
Best Poem, Third Place: Vanessa Stevens
Fastest Time, Female: Dana Fjare (27:35)
2nd Place Time, Female: Vanessa Stevens (45:03)
3rd Place Time, Female: Christie Shell (1:05:49)
Fastest Time, Male: Aidan Earnest (22:15)
2nd Place Time, Male: Nolan Earnest (22:34)
3rd Place Time, Male: Stanley Rogers (25:33)
Red Lantern: Christie Shell/Chris Campbell group (1:05:49)

Other times:

(27:00) Jeff Rogers
(27:35) Dashiel Feierabend
(30:03) Roy Earnest
(31:02) Don Kiely
(33:18) John Mayer
(33:18) Jay Mayer
(38:35) Joe Taylor
(38:35) Glenn Taylor
(45:20) RJ Stevens


2013’s sponsors included Beaver Sports, the Blue LoonGoldstream Sports, Rosie Creek Farm, and Taylor’s Gold-n-Stones. Check out photos from 2012 here!


Ian Herriot dressed as a gold miner / Felix Pedro was one of our prize winners, and the group prize went to the foxes, including Lauren and her child and Lisa Baraff. Judge “Bribe Me” Corey DiRutigliano literally shone in his gold pants and braid (but he didn’t get a prize).


There were five winners in the poetry contest. Judges included Jonathan Britton, Deirdre Helfferich, Jackie Stormer, and guest judge UAF visiting professor Sean Hill. The winners were:

#1, by runner 3577, Cathy Walker

#2, by runner 257, Kaithryn Ott (a.k.a. the Freudian Slip)

#3,  by runner 116, RJ Stevens (a.k.a. Superman)
inspecting fall
with trees
from four years ago
my love


#4, by runner 119, Darcy Misel

#5, by runner 259, Vanessa Stevens (a.k.a. the Green Lantern)